How do I experience Silence during meditation ?

Question:

“Drop the small mind”. I understand one way is to keep saying I am not the body, I am not the mind, I am not the ego etc. I do this during meditation, yet I am unable to TRULY drop the mind just does not go away.A few thoughts come then they stop but I am very ‘AWARE” of everything. I know Guruji says don’t look for an “experience” during meditation even then I feel like I am just sitting the only time, deep meditation happens only when I am in Silence course! Am I doing something wrong? Or should I just relax and let things be the way they are?

Answer:

You hit the bulls eye! When you keep expecting ‘this will happen in meditation’, ‘that will happen in meditation’, you are creating an obstacle. How? With this expectation, you have created a train engine thought. What is a train engine? A train engine is that which pulls along with it a chain of rail cars. This train engine thought will bring along with it a chain of thoughts. And you will not experience silence in meditation.

For a good meditation experience, you must start with “Akinchan – I am nothing, Achaha – I want nothing, Aprayatna – I do nothing”. This creates an emptiness within, & that emptiness leads to a silent mind.

Homework: Sit & meditate now – Akinchan, achaha, aprayatna. Above all, Have patience with yourself, incessant abhyasa is mandatory on the spiritual path!

If you have questions, please feel free to send it by clicking on the “Ask a Question” button on the left sidebar.

Leave a Reply

